Don't let the decor scare you. Great crabs! Highly recommend. Our server was awesome & friendly
— Heidi Staub
We loved Michelle, our waitress, on Friday afternoon. Food was perfect too! Thank you Michelle, Your Harley riders
— Stephanie Schleicher
Awesome crab legs, steamed shrimp, fried oysters and clams. Our server was excellent. All the staff was very friendly and professional! Shannon went above and beyond to assure a great experience
— Dina M. Milligan

Picked up a dozen large live crabs at rubes about a week ago. At that time they still had Chesapeake Bay crabs, And had not switched over to the Louisiana crabs, yet.

What with the warm weather maybe they still are getting Chesapeake crabs… I don't know?

Anyway, they were "fabulous"…… Large, heavy, and packed with delicious crab meat.

Cooked them in a steamer pot with Maryland crab spice and they were delicious. They were so large that my wife and I could not eat the full dozen and actually cleaned half of them and put them away in the refrigerator for appetizers over the next few next few days. Just plopped them in the microwave for 30 seconds and then serveed them piping hot as an appetizer.

They were delicious all over again.


Very happy I only live 30 minutes away from Rubes Crab Shack


A faithful customer
— Rchard Lewis
Robin, Thank you to you and your wonderful staff for taking such good care of us again this year. As usual the Crabs, Shrimp and Crab Legs were outstanding. Our Servers were fantastic! Our whole team enjoyed everything! The only complaint was ... no room for dessert! See you in September for our Fall outing. Our Best to you and your staff this year
— Beef 'n Buns 'n Paradise in Frederick, MD
This is one of the best places to eat my son and I ate for 2hrs and 45 minutes and ate 40 crabs and they didn't say anything to us. It did start out slow we had to wait 5 minutes between getting more crabs but as the place filled up they kept them coming steady. Wait staff were friendly and very attentive if you want good crabs this would be my choice Everytime. All their other items that they brought out to customers looked awesome. They don't have a big menu but what they do have they take care in doing it right. We brought my wife home a crab cake that was 4-5 ounces and she said it was great. It was 8.99!. So give this place a shot you won't be disappointed
— Bruce Harvey
Bought 2 bushels of crabs yesterday and they were out of this world!!!! Everyone LOVED them!!! Thank you Rube's!!!
— Karen Carlson
“Excellent!! Don't listen to any bad reviews!”

5 stars via mobile

I ordered all you can eat crabs from this place tonight and it is by far the best seafood restaurant in the area. Great food and service. Everyone is so friendly! Loved it!! I will go back again and again!
— luvanimals00 Frederick, Maryland
“Great evening”


My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go somewhere for AYCE crabs. We had never been here but had friends who recommended it. We had a great evening. The crabs were excellent, we did not get any watery ones or ones that were not full. Our waitress keep them coming for over 2 hours. She brought out about 8 or so each time, so that we always had hot crabs on our table. She was also quick to refill our drinks and remove the shell bucket. We will go back
— maptroller62 Frederick, Maryland
“Excellent crabs for ayce.”

5 stars

Best crabs I've ever had when ordering ayce. Crabs were large,heavy,hot and perfectly seasoned. Waitress was helpful and friendly. She kept our glasses full and checked with us frequently to see how we were doing and to clean off our table. I was hesitant to go on a Sunday as several other places we called were out of crabs and I hoped Rubes was not just getting rid of trash crabs following a holiday weekend. But the waitress informed me the owner was very picky,even about the ayce, and refused to serve small,empty,or watery crabs. WOW..I didn't think there were any businesses left that still cared that much about what they serve and not just about their bottom line. Keep it up Rubes and u have a customer for life!
— sra 1a8
“Best crabs ever!”

5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I absolutely love it here and look forward to coming back again and again. I'm from Baltimore and I go camping in Gettysburg all of the time which is the reason why I found this place. My boyfriend, family, and friends have been coming to Rubes for the past 3 year and we love it every time! We always usually get the All-you-can-eat. It comes with crabs, crab legs, steamed shrimp, fried shrimp, hush puppies, fries , soup, and salad bar all for under 46 bucks. Beers are fairly priced and the atmosphere is casual. People are always friendly and you can count on the juke box to play good tunes. We come up from Baltimore about 6 times a year and the owners are extremely friendly and courteous. I highly recommend to anyone wanting to eat good crabs and have a good time!






— Jewels12580 Elkridge, Maryland
“No frills, but good seafood.....”

5 stars

This unassuming restaurant, where paper table covering is the norm when crabs are being cracked, is a great find. All the basics are there, but it was the Maryland crab soup, crab cakes, etc that was most satisfying. Welcoming atmosphere, friendly staff, and good seafood....if you visit Emmitsburg, you should stop here for lunch or dinner! A wonderful find, and if you enjoy hard shell crab, you will love Rube's!
— John H. H.
“Great Seafood Joint”

5 stars

Rube's is an awesome place to get some great seafood. I ordered the Surf and Turf and can't wait to go back. The dish was amazing. Great price, great taste and flavor. Next time I go I am getting the All you can eat crab plate. Its not a flashy place, as appearances go, and there is not a lot to the inside, but there is exactly what you need. A great place to sit at the table and eat
— Chad S.
“Perfectly cooked crabs and amazing hush puppies!”
5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Rubes Crab Shack is not a shack at all! It was very clean and bright inside. Lots of long tables inside. It is kind of set up like a Moose or Eagles. I will say if you are a very large person you will want to be sure they sit you on an end. When the place was crowded it was odd squeezing through tables in the full restaurant. We are normal sized people but we still had to mindful walking though. We went for the all you can eat crabs. We are VERY particular about our crabs. They were cooked perfectly. Seasoned perfectly. Amazing crabs. The first round of steamed shrimp was cooked perfectly too. Round two was a little overcooked. The hush puppies are unreal. I am so glad I dont live close because I would stop for those alone. My husband had a few beers and the bill for the 2 AYCE meals and drinks was $100. It was worth it. Well, worth it for us because we eat ALOT of crabs. I hope this review was helpful!


Visited July 2015
— paymeami2 Gettysburg, PA
“We got a dozen and a half medium steamed crabs by pick-up.”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

The steamed crabs at this restaurant were THE VERY BEST we have gotten anywhere in Maryland. The mediums were a good size, good weight, filled with crab meat, two legs per crab, and the seasoning was delicious! I told my husband I was in heaven when I was picking the very first one. We had them for two dinners in a row. We put them in a refrigerator overnight and they were even better the second day - the seasoning permeated each crab. The crabs were 5-stars.


Visited August 2015
— wilmajeanne2015 Taneytown, Maryland
“Great place for all you can eat crabs”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

Stopped in twice during July. Had good experiences both times. The first time was with a group of 6. We all got the all you can eat special - crabs, etc... Can't beat the price. They were very nice size and tasty. All of us enjoyed the meal and left very happy. The second time I stopped in was with a friend for a quick dinner and drink. We ate at the bar and got some crab cakes and shrimp. Food was good and the beer was cold. Once again we were happy with the experience.



Visited July 2015
— c12pilot South Bend, Indiana
“The only place to go for hard shell crabs!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Best crabs ever. Perfect seasoning. Even those at the beach can't beat them. We have dined in and also had carry out. You get more for your money than any other place for carry out. They stack their crabs in the box unlike others who just throw them in. Their crabs are so good we bought them and traveled 800 miles to share them with family.




— Kris W.
Great food and service tonight. It was very busy but the staff worked very hard to keep patrons happy! It was our first time here and my family loved it!!!! You can't beat the price for the AUCE crabs, shrimp, soup and salad!
— Danielle Samuels
Thanks Rube's Crab Shack for working the holiday so we could enjoy crabs!!! They were fabulous!!!
— Angela Druin
Best crab cakes hands down! Great salad bar too!
— Sara Murphy Laird
5 star... Delicious! Hot and fresh every time we visit! :)
— Kayla LeAnn
Crabs are always fresh n hot. Went last week, they had great flavor and were heavy! Great servers and staff!
— Krista Lyn Hart
Just got home from a fantastic time at Rube's Crab Shack. Our server did a great job and we waited for nothing. The food was top notch as always.
— Debbie McFerren
5 star.. Ate here twice now with our great friends who introduced us to the place. Both times the food was very tasty. The seafood is well seasoned and very good! We had a great time after dinner enjoying the band and having some adult beverages afterwards. To say the least, We will be going more often. Matter of fact, we have plans with other family members to meet for dinner soon. We all love hard shell crabs and crab legs, and can all eat a lot so watch out, here we come Rubes!
— Robin Langlois
Crabs are always amazingly heavy and delicious
— Lisa Bagwell Patterson
The crabs were great and they are so friendly there. I would go back again
— Kathy Ann Copenhaver
5 star.... First time to eat here. I must say crabs were excellent. Service was great Jackie you are gem. We really enjoyed ourselves and will be returning
— Betty Jane Rosebrock
5 star.. Place is really good, food excellent, service very good, great place to eat hang out with friends!!!! GUYS YOU ARE !!!!!!!AWESOME!!! KEEP DOING THE GOOD JOB!!
— Wills Chacon
My mother, father, sister, and I ate here for the second time today around 2 pm. All the seafood was hot and steamed to perfection. The place was upper clean and the staff was so nice. Met the owners and they were awesome down to earth people. Definitely my favorite restaurant. 5 star.. My favorite seafood restaurant!
— Laurie Bonner Deavers
5 star.. Last Friday we had the most wonderful meal! Our food was fresh and hot. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Melissa was a fantastic server. It was our first time there, but certainly won't be our last!
— Roxanna Cecco
5 star! Every time I've been to Rube's, food & service has always been great. Matter of fact, having dinner there with friends tonight & with family the first week in November!
Since I've found great service @ Rube's I would NEVER go back to.........................
#lovemesomerubes
— Penny Thomas Blizzard
What a place!!! Found it thru a friend about a months ago. Had the AYCE crabs w/ the Alaskan King Crab Legs they were the best!!! Salad Bar is A -1....Will be back real soon.....
— Kim Kelley Hoff
5 star! WOW! What a great little seafood restaurant & lounge! My inlaws, who frequent Rube's, asked us to go out for crabs with them. Upon arrival (we were 30 mins.early for our reservation) we were greeted by the hostess & was told that we could be seated at that time. Then one of the owners, Robin, came to greet us. This place is fantastic on so many levels. Great all-around menu, but the seafood is their specialty. We ordered 3 AYCE #2 crabs, I also went a step up & went for the AYCE #3 Alaskan king crab legs. The AYCE came with unlimited soup, salad, hushpuppies (the best), steamed & fried shrimp, & french fries. You can also order an AYCE #1, which is just crabs without all of the extras. What a great meal! Our server's name was Dawn. She was awesome. She had a great personality & seemed to know when we needed things. She brought me fresh melted butter for the crab legs more than once without being asked. Her service was well above average! The place was quaintly decorated with a seafood motif & was very clean. If you are in search of a great little restaurant with reasonably priced great food & excellent service, this is the place to go!!
— Kevin W. Mapp
We always LOVE our visits to Rubes!! The crabs are always fresh, hot and well seasoned! We adore the staff, especially the owner, Robin, whom my daughter Mia adores! Looking forward to many more visits for the best AUCE around!
— Tessa Gist
Excellent salad bar and broccoli cheddar soup. And did I taste some cauliflower in the soup? Excellent service.
— Becky Easley
First visit for AYCE crabs and service as well as crabs were the BOMB baby!
— Kevin Sherman
5 star! We went last night (Saturday) with a party if 14!! The beer was definately the coldest beer around!!! Our service!! WOW our waitress was on top of everything and the BEST!! Crabs had a great taste very full and big crabs!! Everything was delicious!!!!! Thank you for making our special (bachelor/bachelorette gathering a memorable one!!!
— Keri Arnold Gaigalas
5 star! Great service. Fair prices. Pleasant and clean (which in that sort of business is hard to keep up.) The AYCE is exactly that, they do not skimp! Always enjoy our visits and never leave hungry.
— Deb Rager
5 star! We loved it at Rube's and when a few of our crab cakes were at bit salty... She offered us anything we wanted instead! Highly recommend it! We'll definitely be back :)
— Jennie Dennis Ritt
5 star! Awesome place! Crabs were full and not overcooked! Highly recommend this gem of a crab shack! You will not be disappointed!
— Tony McMaster
5 star! Robin and her whole staff treat everyone Iike family. Crabs (prices) and service blow all the competition away.
— David J Framm
First time to partake of the food here and I must say, I WILL BE BACK! Crabs are awesome and service was great. When you visit Rube's all I can say is enjoy!
— Jason Smith
Always delicious crabs and friendly service!
— Brooke Hagerty
Best crabs around and the seasoning is Unbelieveable!!
— Michael Gray
Awesome food, and the best seafood around. Highly recommended!!
— Jenn Bangs-Baker